4 Types of Passports Issued to Indian Citizens

Passports Issued to Indian Citizens

4 Types of Passports Issued to Indian Citizens

Passports Issued to Indian Citizens

India, a country known for its diversity and cultural richness, also provides various types of passports to its citizens. These passports cater to different needs, from routine travel to specific purposes. Let’s delve into the four primary types of passports issued to Indian citizens..

1. Regular Passport (P-Type Passport)

The Regular Passport, often called the P-type passport, is the most common document issued to Indian citizens for ordinary travel, such as vacation, business trips, or personal reasons. It is a 36-page booklet, although there’s also a 60-page variant for frequent travelers. This passport is valid for ten years for adults and five years for minors under 18.
To obtain a Regular Passport, applicants must submit various documents, including proof of identity, address, date of birth, and photographs. The application process involves filling out forms online or at Passport Seva Kendras (PSKs) and scheduling an appointment for document verification and biometric data collection..

2. Diplomatic Passport (D-Type Passport)

The Diplomatic Passport, known as the D-Type Passport, is issued to Indian diplomats, top-ranking government officials, or individuals representing the Indian government on official business abroad. It signifies the bearer’s diplomatic status and grants them specific privileges and immunities per international conventions.
This passport is adorned with a maroon cover and is valid for official travel and duties related to diplomatic assignments. It allows visa-free entry into many countries and provides diplomatic immunity as international law mandates. The Ministry of External Affairs handles the issuance and renewal of Diplomatic Passports.

3. Official Passport (S-Type Passport)

The Official Passport, designated as the S-Type Passport, is granted to individuals representing the Indian government on official business, but not at a diplomatic level. It is issued to government employees, members of statutory bodies, or those working for government-owned companies when traveling abroad for official duties.
The cover of an Official Passport is white and serves as an identification document for official travel. Holders of Official Passports are entitled to certain privileges and immunities during their overseas trips, although less extensive than those provided by Diplomatic Passports.

4. Tatkal Passport

The Tatkal Passport expedites passport issuance, primarily for emergencies or urgent situations. It is available for all categories of passports mentioned above—Regular, Diplomatic, and Official—but the application process differs. This service ensures quicker processing, often within a few days, upon payment of additional fees.
Applicants seeking Tatkal Passports must provide the necessary documents and pay the requisite fees. This service caters to individuals facing unforeseen circumstances like medical emergencies, sudden travel plans due to family reasons, or any urgent requirement demanding immediate passport issuance.


Passports are pivotal in international travel, serving as a primary identification document and facilitating movement across borders. For Indian citizens, the diverse passport types cater to distinct purposes, ensuring streamlined travel for various situations—routine trips, official duties, or urgent needs.
Understanding these four primary types of passports issued to Indian citizens—Regular, Diplomatic, Official, and Tatkal—clarifies the specific privileges, purposes, and procedures associated with each, enabling individuals to obtain the appropriate document for their travel requirements.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *